New this year! Two categories for Manitoba Communicator of the Year award!

CPRS Manitoba celebrates excellence in public communications, and developed the Manitoba Communicator of the Year (MCOY) award in 2008 to honour individuals and organizations whose work in public relations or communications has had a significant impact.

New this year is the creation of two distinct categories that have been developed to recognize communicators in Manitoba who work at all levels with varying budgets and resources. These new categories will ensure nominees are evaluated on an equal playing field against their peers. The new categories allow candidates to be nominated in the Small Campaign Category (budget less than $20,000) and the Large Campaign Category (budget greater than $20,000).

The MCOY award is open to Manitoba practitioners in business, government, non-profit and community organizations whose efforts in the past two years (2014 or 2015)have resulted in greater understanding of a specific issue, successful promotion of a cause, expert management of a crisis, or the public’s acceptance of an organization’s mandate.

Past winners include Jane Puchniak of Canada’s royal Winnipeg Ballet (2014); Jason Syvixay of Downtown Winnipeg BIZ (2014); Bill Peters of St-Boniface Hospital Research Centre (2013); Scott Brown of True North Sports and Entertainment (2012); Kevin Walters of Manitoba Homecoming (2011); Clare MacKay of The Forks North Portage Partnership (2010); and Heather Plett of the Canadian Foodgrains Bank (2009). Inaugural MCOY winners were Gail Asper and Kim Jasper of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights (2008).

Deadline for nominations is Friday, March 4, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. CST. Please submit all MCOY queries and nominations to GOOD LUCK!

The MCOY award will be presented at a gala dinner at the beginning of May; further details to be announced.