News Release

Manitoba Homecoming 2010 Selected as CPRS Manitoba’s Manitoba Communicator of the Year

The Manitoba chapter of the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is pleased to announce that Kevin Walters, Executive Director of Manitoba Homecoming 2010 is the recipient of this year’s 2011 Manitoba Communicator of the Year Award which will be presented at a Special Luncheon event on Wednesday April 13, 2011 at the Hotel Fort Garry, presented by Marketwire.

Manitoba Homecoming 2010 was a year long experience to bring former and current Manitobans, visitors, family and friends together for events, festivals and an all-around great celebration.

“Our independent jury was impressed with Manitoba Homecoming 2010’s initiatives to celebrate the music, culture and community spirit of Manitoba and the people who live and work here,” said CPRS Manitoba president Siobhan Kari. “The team behind Manitoba Homecoming 2010, led by Kevin Walters, co-ordinated a year-long program of events by building on existing events, creating new ones, and acting as a catalyst for others activities.”

CPRS Manitoba established the Manitoba Communicator of the Year Award to honour individuals or organizations that have demonstrated excellence in public communications in business, politics, entertainment, non-profits, or the community at large. The Communicator of the Year was selected by a panel of senior CPRS Manitoba members.

Last year, Clare MacKay of The Forks North Portage Partnership, was recognized for the revitalization of The Forks’ as an exciting destination for visitors and locals alike. In 2009, Heather Plett of the Canadian Foodgrains Bank took home the title for her work promoting her Winnipeg-based humanitarian effort nationally and internationally. She followed inaugural winners Gail Asper and Kim Jasper who won for their efforts to promote The Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

Both the award recipient and all the highly qualified nominations have demonstrated the creativity and solid communications strategies amongst Manitoba’s public relations professionals. CPRS Manitoba is proud to be able to recognize the best in the profession. The event is made possible through the generosity of principal sponsor, Marketwire.


MB Homecoming logoCPRS Manitoba

As the leading professional association for communicators in the province, CPRS Manitoba includes members from corporations, public relations agencies, government departments and non-profits. Members represent a wide variety of fields, ranging from agriculture and health care, to financial services and manufacturing.

For more information on the award, see the website or contact:

Siobhan Kari, president of CPRS Manitoba,

Manitoba Homecoming 2010 Selected as CPRS Manitoba Communicator of the Year