Heather Plett of Canadian Foodgrains Bank awarded for innovative tactics, unlimited passion

WINNIPEG, March 5, 2009 – The Manitoba chapter of the Canadian Public Relations Society has named Heather Plett Manitoba’s Communicator of the Year for her work directing a national campaign to raise money and grain donations for distribution to developing countries, and to educate and engage people in hunger-related advocacy.

Plett is the director of resources and communication with the Canadian Foodgrains Bank (CFGB), a Winnipeg-based, national non-profit organization.

Award sponsor Marketwire – one of North America’s leading newswire and media distribution companies – will present the honour at a gala luncheon on March 18 at the Fort Garry Hotel.

Plett was chosen by a panel of senior CPRS Manitoba members for her success in targeting diverse audiences across the country with a multi-platform campaign and a limited budget. With a clearly articulated strategy, Plett and her team rebuilt CFGB’s website, added a microsite for a special campaign (www.endhungerfast.com), developed videos, ran their first direct mail campaign and employed social media tools to reach her organization’s goals. These tactics resulted in widespread media coverage in both rural and urban outlets, a nationwide campaign in which thousands of people “fasted for change,” and a record year in donations totalling more than $11 million.

“This year’s winner demonstrates that small shops with small budgets can get big results,” says Adam Dooley, past president of the Manitoba CPRS chapter, and chair of CPRS Manitoba’s Communicator of the Year committee. “Heather Plett and her team launched a national campaign with results that resonated on a global scale.”

Plett was among a distinguished field of nominees for the second annual award, which CPRS Manitoba established to honour those who have demonstrated excellence in public communications.

This year’s gala will offer a special morning program of professional workshops on government relations, which is sponsored by CNW Group.

For more information on the award, please contact:

Adam Dooley, past president of CPRS Manitoba,
(204) 291-4092

National End Hunger Campaign Wins Communicator of the Year